Watch Metallica perform at inaugural Triad Combat event in Arlington, Texas

Posted by on November 29, 2021


Metallica opened the show at “Triad Combat” in Arlington, Texas. The debut of this event was held at the Globe Life Field, home of the Texas Rangers and is a mixture of boxing and mixed martial arts also known as MMA.

When asked about Metallica’s involvement with the event, bassist Robert Trujillo told MMA Junkie:

“It’s pretty exciting because I almost feel like the type of music that we do, that Metallica does, kind of warrants itself into the combat sports world. I’m a big fan of MMA and actually boxing because I grew up watching a lot of the classic matches through the ’70s and the ’80s and I actually watched early MMA. I could always relate the two universes between edgy music and just edgy sporting events. I think it’s a perfect fit. This is the first time something like this specifically has landed on our plate. One of the things about Metallica is that we like a challenge, we like something new. This is something that hasn’t really been done, at least in our universe. We’re pretty excited. It’s a unique experience. Everything about it is pretty unique. The way the set is set up — in terms of the setlist and how it’s sort of sprawled out over the course of the evening — is pretty special and unique. I think all and all, between the fights and the performance, it’s going to balance out into a pretty exciting experience.”

Among the fighters featured in separate fights on the debut of “Triad Combat” were two-time UFC heavyweight world champion Frank Mir, two-time boxing heavyweight world title challenger Kubrat “The Cobra” Pulev and former UFC superstar “Platinum” Mike Perry.

Watch a few fan-filmed footage in the videos below.

The setlist for the night was:

Opening Set
01) Fuel
02) Ride The Lightning
Pre-Main Event
03) Master Of Puppets
04) Nothing Else Matters
05) Enter Sandman
Closing Set
06) Whiplash
07) The Memory Remains
08) Wherever I May Roam
09) Sad But True
10) Creeping Death
11) The Unforgiven
12) For Whom The Bell Tolls
13) Whiskey In The Jar
14) Fade To Black
15) Battery
16) Seek & Destroy


Categorised in: News, Video