Suffocation drop “Seraphim Enslavement” video; new album arriving in November

Posted by on September 12, 2023

Photo Credit: Jason Carlson


New York death metal legends, Suffocation, are set to release their ninth full-length album, Hymns From The Apocrypha, on November 3rd via Nuclear Blast Records. The follow-up to 2017’s …of the Dark Light (2017) introduces new vocalist Ricky Meyers on the record. Promising to push boundaries of extremity, the album represents one of Suffocation’s most intense and sonically punishing works to date. Today (12th), the group has unveiled a sneak peek of the album with a Tom Flynn-directed video, featuring character design by Kyle Monroe, for their latest single, “Seraphim Enslavement.” 


Derek Boyer comments: 

“This is my fifth full-length studio album with SUFFOCATION and this album came out SICK! It features all of the brutal, technical, chaotic twists and turns everyone would expect from SUFFOCATION, plus new elements that are out of the normal realm one might expect. This is the sophomore effort of working with Christian Donaldson (who mixed and mastered Live In North America) and he absolutely KILLED IT on this one!!! We can’t wait to bring these songs to the stage and crush everything in our path!”


Myers adds:

“We are thrilled to unveil our 11th full-length album, Hymns From The Apocrypha, a creatively composed piece that blends our style of music with lyrical depth and intricate artwork. This album is a testament to our devotion to brutal music, which we display in the video of our single, ‘Seraphim Enslavement’, a visual journey that complements the album’s concept.”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:


Track List:

01) Hymns From The Apocrypha

02) Perpetual Deception

03) Dim Veil Of Obscurity

04) Immortal Execration

05) Seraphim Enslavement

06) Descendants

07) Embrace The Suffering

08) Delusions Of Mortality

09) Ignorant Deprivation



Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video