Persefone unveil “Merkabah” video; new album arriving in February

Posted by on November 16, 2021



Persefone have announced their new album, metanoia, will arrive on February 4th via their new label Napalm Records. Today (16th), the extreme progressive metal outfit has unveiled a video for the first single “Merkabah.” The upcoming effort will include collaborations with a number of artists including Steffen Kummerer (Obscura, Thulcandra), Einar Solberg (Leprous), Angel Vivaldi and Merethe Soltvedt (Two Steps From Hell). Mixed by David Castillo (Leprous, Soen, Opeth) and mastered by Tony Lindgren (Enslaved, Ihsahn, Sepultura), the record marks a brand new chapter for the band. 


The group commented on the new song:

“metanoia is all about a musical journey for a spiritual breakthrough. Merkabah is a vehicle to elevate, Merkabah asks for meditation and trust in the process. With this song we wanted to mark a pivotal moment in the album and write about a personal detour from the old self, a painful and needed transformation to reach new heights, to leave fear behind, to embrace life as the amazing experience we have been gifted with… ‘on my knees, I still believe.’”


On metanoia:

“metanoia is the next step in our personal pursuit for existential growth through music. This album is a call for a deep change, a call for an inner journey through fear and pain, a call for a leap into a meaningful and rooted place. Making this album has forced us to face many  musical and personal hurdles and fears, and the result of that confrontation lives within all the notes and words captured on this new chapter in our journey.  May you will find meaning in all this musical chaos.”

Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:



Track List:

01) Metanoia ft. Einar Solberg

02) Katabasis

03) Architecture of the I

04) Leap of Faith

05) Aware of Being Watched

06) Merkabah

07) Consciousness Part III

08) Anabasis Part I

09) Anabasis Part II ft. Steffen Kummerer, Angel Vivaldi und Merethe Soltvedt

10) Anabasis Part III




Categorised in: New Music, News, Video