Crippled Black Phoenix reveal “Everything is Beautiful But Us” video

Posted by on July 21, 2022


Progressive rockers Crippled Black Phoenix have unveiled a video for their new song, “Everything is Beautiful But Us.” The track is taken from their upcoming album, Banefyre, out September 9th via Season of Mist. 


The group’s mastermind Justin Greaves explains:

“Although this is not a ‘lock down’ song, Belinda’s lyrics were certainly inspired by the lack of human activity we found when the first lock down began. We were going for walks where I live in the countryside and the silence was amazing, the air seemed more fresh and there was a definite increase of wildlife activity. So it made us both realise more than ever how ugly we are as a race, humans basically ruin everything. Musically this is one of my personal faves on the new album, ‘BANEFYRE, The Musical!’ It plays an integral part in the sound journey, it’s simple but powerful. Very CBP.”


Singer/percussionist Belinda Kordic adds:

“Justin sent me the demo with the title, I thought the song was beautiful, so I couldn’t just plonk down (write) just anything. It had to be right. The inspiration for the song hit me during the first wave of Covid. When I was over visiting Justin in the UK, and I couldn’t get back home for quite some time due to travel restrictions. So, we were spending a lot of time outside in the countryside and i was amazed at the quick turn nature took for the better, as soon as humans were removed out of the equation. The increased symphony of birdsong, bumble bees the size of my fist turning up in the garden, animals coming out of hiding and popping up here, there and everywhere. Nature and its inhabitants were thriving to the very fullest. As they should. It was beautiful, but also sad at the same time. knowing that when we get back to ‘normal,’the destruction continues.”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:



Track List:

01) Intro/Incantation For The Different 

02) Wyches And Basterdz 

03) Ghostland 

04) The Reckoning 

05) Bonefire 

06) Rose Of Jericho 

07) Blackout77

08) Down The Rabbit Hole 

09) Everything Is Beautiful But Us 

10) The Pilgrim 

11) I’m OK, Just Not Alright

12) The Scene Is A False Prophet

13) No Regrets



Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video