Photo credit: Sam Jamsen


Cemetery Skyline, the new project featuring Markus Vanhala (guitar), Mikael Stanne (vocals), Santeri Kallio (keyboard), Vesa Ranta (drums), and Victor Brandt (bass), has released their new single and video titled “Violent Storm.” The video, directed by Patric Ullaeus of rEvolver Film Company, captures a significant moment in the band’s history. With an already ambitious lineup, Cemetery Skyline will push boundaries to make their live debut at the John Smith Rock Festival in Laukaa, Finland from August 18-20, 2024. 


Vanhala comments:

“The weather forecast points to a Nordic gothic storm that is rising. The song mood is highly inspired by the late nightly empty roads of Goth-emburg and their desperate stories of loneliness and getting lost to the unique beautiful misery and sorrow of Nordic gothic.” 


Stanne adds: 

“It’s about a built-up frustration and how it can get out of hand, the feeling of helplessness and how it can take over.” 


Kallio concludes: 

“It’s a simple, rocky song that represents the band perfectly.”


On the video, Vanhala states: 

“The video is telling the story of how this weird gang of friends is literally coming together.” 


Kallio adds: 

“We take a walk through an old cemetery and actually meet as a band for the very first time.”


Watch the clip below:


Cemetery Skyline line-up:

Vocals: Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquillity, The Halo Effect)

Guitars: Markus Vanhala (Insomnium, Omnium Gatherum, I Am The Night)

Keyboards: Santeri Kallio (Amorphis)

Bass: Victor Brandt (Dimmu Borgir, Witchery, ex-Entombed/Entombed A.D., ex-Firespawn and many more)

Drums: Vesa Ranta (Sentenced, The Abbey)