Swedish power metal outfit Bloodbound have announced their new album, Tales From The North, will be released on July 7th, 2023 via AFM/Soulfood. To celebrate the announcement the group shared a lyric video for the song, “Odin’s Prayer.” 


Lead guitarist Tomas Olsson comments on the record:

“’Tales From The North’ is very much a concept album about the viking era. About the lives of our ancestors up here in the dark, cold and unfriendly environments of the north. Different legends and myths intertwine during the course of the songs, leading up to the epic battle of 1066, which marks the end of the viking era.” 


Fredrik Bergh comments on the new single: 

“Odin’s Prayer is a real banger of a song. It represents the new album well and I think it’s a great first taste of the new record. On Tales From The North we have gone back to the roots of bloodbound a bit and I think the bloodheads will like what they hear!“


Olsson adds:

“The songs are more fast-paced and closer to some of our earlier stuff like ’Moria’ and ’Nosferatu’, but have more complex arrangements. Compared to the predecessor ‚Creatures Of The Dark Realm‘ there are heavier guitars and some deeper sounding keyboards. We have also incorporated some traditional nordic folk music instruments to fit the concept of the album. It`s still pure power metal but we’re trying to take it to the next level.”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:


Track List:

01) Tales From The North

02) Drink With The Gods

03) Odin´s Prayer

04) The Raven´s Cry

05) Mimir`s Crystal Eye

06) Between The Enemy Lines

07) Land Of Heroes

08) Sail Among The Dead

09) Stake My Claims

10)Sword And Axe

11) 1066