Baroness to release new album in June, premiere “Borderlines” Music Video

Posted by on March 14, 2019

Baroness recently announced the official title of their new album will be Gold & Grey as guitarist/vocalist John Baizley explained it will “stand as the 6th and final piece in our chromatically-themed records.” While we’ve seen the band make the live debut of their new song “Borderlines,”  today (14th), the group has officially premiered the single. These Georgia metal giants have simultaneously unveiled the “Borderlines” music video as well as announcing Gold & Grey will be released on June 14th via Abraxan Hymns.

Baizley commented:

“Our goal is, was, and will always be to write increasingly superior, more honest and compelling songs, and to develop a more unique and challenging sound. I’m sure we have just finished our best, most adventurous album to date. We dug incredibly deep, challenged ourselves and recorded a record I’m positive we could never again replicate. I consider myself incredibly fortunate to know Sebastian, Nick and Gina as both my bandmates and my friends. They have pushed me to become a better songwriter, musician and vocalist. We’re all extremely excited for this release, which includes quite a few ‘firsts’ for the band, and we’re thrilled to be back on tour to play these psychotic songs for our fans. Expect some surprises.”

The group teamed up with Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, Mogwai) at his remote upstate New York Tarbox Road Studio to once again to produce Gold & Grey as he worked on their prior effort 2015’s Purple. Gold & Grey marks the first album with Gina Gleason on guitar. The group tracked portions of the vocals, guitars, and overdubs in Baizley’s home-basement studio, which is another first from the group. 

Drummer Sebastian Thomson explained:

“On Gold & Grey we have taken some unexpected paths on a labyrinthine sonic adventure. We accepted sounds and styles that have not appeared on previous Baroness albums, and I’m excited to welcome our fans into our new lair.”

Gleason added:

“Having the chance to create music without any preconceived boundaries was both liberating and intimidating. As we pushed past our fear and comfort zone, the four of us connected in a way that allowed us to create freely, uplift one another and build the unique sonic world that is Gold & Grey. As a longtime Baroness listener, it is exciting to have created something new while still maintaining a deep love and understanding of the band’s roots. To say that the making of this record was quite a journey would be an understatement. We are beyond excited to share this experience and music with everyone!”


Check out the video below and pre-order Gold & Grey here:

Track List:

  1. Front Toward Enemy
  2. I’m Already Gone
  3. Seasons
  4. Sevens
  5. Tourniquet
  6. Anchor’s Lament
  7. Throw Me An Anchor
  8. I’d Do Anything
  9. Blankets of Ash
  10. Emmett-Radiating Light
  11. Cold Blooded Angels
  12. Crooked Mile
  13. Broken Halo
  14. Can Oscura
  15. Borderlines
  16. Assault on East Falls
  17. Pale Sun


Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video