Baroness announce ‘Purple,’ have a Chlorine & Wine tasting

Posted by on August 28, 2015


Oh Baroness, you’re so predictable. As many suspected, the band announced that their fourth album would continue their trend of naming their albums after colors. And yes, it’s going to be called Purple. The band have released an animated video for the first track released from the album, “Chlorine & Wine,” and the almost seven-minute track sounds like a cross between both discs of the Yellow and Green album. After a long, slow build with strings and piano, it settles into the verse about two minutes in. There’s also a pretty rad dual guitar solo and a stirring gang vocal chorus towards the end of the song. If the rest of the album is as epic as this, it should be an exciting one. The Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips)- produced Purple will be released on December 18th, on the band’s own label, Abraxan Hymns.

Here’s what band mastermind John Baisley says about Purple, via a press release:

“After releasing a lengthy and investigative record like Yellow & Green we all felt that we needed to make something much more direct and immediate,” explains band founder and singer John Baizley of the approach behind Purple. The album was produced by Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, MGMT) at Tarbox Road Studios in the secluded town of Cassadaga, New York. “We wanted to write with our normal focus on artistry, balanced against an increased level of energy and focus. It was important for us to write our new songs with the type of enthusiasm and expressiveness that could act as a counterpoint to the album’s dark themes.  As a result, the music came out in an intense, heavy and sonically captivating in a new way, which was important, loathe, as we are to fall into any kind of complacency pitfall or formulaic songwriting routine.Purple is the most fully realized representation of our intention as a band; considering the amount of physical and mental energy spent writing it, we have accomplished something which would have seemed impossible to us a couple of years ago.”

Here’s the track listing for Purple:

1.    Morningstar
2.    Shock Me
3.    Try to Disappear
4.    Kerosene
5.    Fugue
6.    Chlorine & Wine
7.    The Iron Bell
8.    Desperation Burns
9.    If I Have to Wake Up (Would You Stop the Rain)
10. Crossroads of Infinity

You can preorder the album now and get an instant-grat download of “Chlorine & Wine.”


Categorised in: News, Video