“We Are” Helping the World Through Metal Music

Posted by on June 19, 2013


The much anticipated single ‘We Are”, which features Serj Tankian (System of a Down), Ihsahn (Emperor) and Devin Townsend (Strapping Young Lad) has been released today in the form of a lyric video. The single was produced by musician/journalist Ray Holroyd as part of his Revolution Harmony philanthropy, which raises funds for various charities by producing musical singles. “We Are” will be made available for purchase on July 18, or Nelson Mandela day, and proceeds will go to Buskaid, a project that aims to give African children from impoverished backgrounds the opportunity to learn to play classical stringed instruments, with some students becoming teachers and opening instrument repair shops.

The single was composed and produced by Holroyd, but both Tankian and Ihsahn contributed vocals to the majestic, atmospheric, yet crushing track. Devin did not sing on the track, but rather tears it up with a guitar solo. The lyrics have to do with the theme of the project, which is harmony. ‘Musical harmony=social harmony’ is the mindset behind the project. “We Are” is the only track that has been made available so far, but more will come from Revolution Harmony in the future. If you are feeling charitable, make sure to buy the track when it officially released through iTunes on July 18th.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: New Music