Mike Patton and Jean-Claude Vannier team up for new album ‘Corpse Flower’

Posted by on May 17, 2019

Faith No More, etc. frontman/legend Mike Patton has teamed up with French composer Jean-Claude Vannier for a new album titled, Corpse Flower. The record will consist of 12 tracks and it will be released on September 13th via Ipecac Recordings. A number of musicians from Los Angeles and Paris will be featured on the LP including Smokey Hormel (Beck, Johnny Cash), Justin Meldal-Johnsen (Beck, Air, Nine Inch Nails) and James Gadson (Beck, Jamie Lidell). The Parisian players are Denys Lable, Bernard Paganotti (Magma), Daniel Ciampolini, Didier Malherbe, Léonard Le Cloarec and the Bécon Palace String Ensemble.

Patton commented on the album:

“Jean-Claude and I met while working together on a Gainsbourg retrospective at the Hollywood Bowl in 201. We bonded immediately. I could see he had a dedication and attention to detail that was relentless so the respect I had for him in my mind was magnified in person. We spoke loosely about working together in the future… and it took some time, but after a few years I contacted him and we began to ignite some sparks.”

Vannier added:

“I would send Mike rough versions of the songs to get his thoughts, then I’d wait impatiently, staring at the clock, until I received his response. He made my music awaken with his unique perspective and interpretations of my songs. A formidable vocalist, with a sense of humor, Mike and I created a strong, beautiful and sincere collection of music, as well as a friendship.”

Stream the new song “On Top of the World” below and pre-order the album here:

Track List:

01) Ballad C.3.3.

02) Camion

03) Chansons D’Amour

04) Cold Sun Warm Beer

05) Browning

06) Ghost

07) Corpse Flower

08) Insolubles

09) On Top Of The World

10) A Schoolgirl’s Day

11) Pink and Bleue

12) Yard Bull


Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases