Fates Warning show their “Scars” in new song, new album arriving in November

Posted by on August 25, 2020


Fates Warning have announced their new album Long Day Good Night will be released on November 6th via Metal Blade Records. Today (25th), the group has given a fresh taste of their upcoming effort with the release of their new single, “Scars.” The follow-up to 2016’s Theories of Flight was mixed by Joe Barresi and is promised to be their most epic and longest record to date. Guitarist Jim Matheos started the writing process for this album during the middle of 2019 and worked closely with frontman Ray Alder resulting in 13 tracks clocking at 72:22 minutes. 

Alder explains: 

“The styles of music we’ve written distinguish this record from the rest of our catalogue. There are some songs with electronics and some with a nice ethereal feel, as well as some pretty straightforward grooves, at least for us. And there are also some pretty heavy songs. We tried to give the listener a host of different things to listen to, as opposed to an album where every song sounds the same.”

He adds:

“Like all albums, nothing comes easy. It’s quite a process to go from the idea to the actual finished song. Sometimes you think you’re done with it, then you hear something else and you have to try that. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t, but you at least have to try it just so you know that in the end you’ve done everything possible to make it as good as it can be. Jim and I spent practically every day for the last year writing this album. I am very happy with the outcome, and with the blend of styles. I guess I could say that this album represents all of the years that we have been together.”


Listen to the song below and pre-order the album here



Track List:

01) The Destination Onward

02) Shuttered World

03) Alone We Walk

04) Now Comes the Rain

05) The Way Home

06) Under the Sun

07) Scars

08) Begin Again

09) When Snow Falls

10) Liar

11) Glass Houses

12) The Longest Shadow of the Day

13) The Last Song




Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases