Drowning Pool streaming new song “Mind Right;” new album arriving in September

Posted by on August 8, 2022


Drowning Pool have announced their first new album in six years, Strike A Nerve, is scheduled to arrive on September 30th via T-BOY/UMe. To celebrate the announcement, the first single, “Mind Right,” is now available to stream. 


Vocalist Jasen Moreno comments:

“This record is so badass, it’s perfect. It’s the four of us doing what we do to the best of our abilities. The band is tight in every way. We’re firing off on all cylinders. We’re at the top of our game. There are all different ways of saying it, but it all amounts to the same thing – the results are just magic. From the way the record sounds, to the writing of it, to the production, to the look of it – it’s just a perfect Drowning Pool record. None of us could ask for anything more…”


Guitarist CJ Pierce adds:

“Strike a Nerve is the most exciting and intense music from Drowning Pool to date. We’ve stayed true to the core sound people know from us, but we’ve taken everything we do to another level. We’ve been writing music together for over twenty years – half of that with Jasen – and this album is more refined and more true to who we are than anything we’ve done before. Sometimes it’s heavier than we’ve ever been, sometimes it’s lighter, and sometimes we go in a direction that surprises even us – but it’s always just brutally honest, and that comes through in every track.”


He continues:

“‘Mind Right’ started with the core Drowning Pool sound, then really dug into our southern metal roots. This song was written not long after Vinnie Paul died, as a tribute of sorts to him and Dime and a way for us to to honor the impact Pantera had on our local Dallas scene. It’s probably the heaviest song we’ve recorded, but it’s the perfect way to close Strike A Nerve; like the title of the song says, we all need to get our minds right. We need to see what’s going on around us, stand up for what we believe in, and always focus on the bigger picture. We can’t wait to play this one live!”


Listen to the song below and pre-order the album here



Track List:

01) Doing Time In Hell

02) Hate Against Hate

03) Stay And Bleed 

04) Strike A Nerve 

05) Racing To A Red Light

06) Choke

07) Everything But You

08) Down In The Dirt

09) Rope

10) A Devil More Damned 

11) Mind Right 



Tour Dates:

09/17 Orlando, FL @ Central Florida Metal Fest 

09/26 Memphis, TN @ Lafayette’s Music Room 

09/28 Warrendale, PA @ Jergels 

09/29 Angola, IN @ The Eclectic Room 

09/30 Flint, MI @ The Machine Shop 

10/01 Beaver Dam, WI @ Stormy’s Music Venue 

10/02 Joliet, IL @ The Forge 

10/04 Lakewood, OH @ The Winchester Music Tavern 

10/05 Harrison, OH @ The Blue Note 

10/07 Fredericksburg, VA @ Hard Times Four Mile Fork 

10/08 State College, PA @ Stage West Penn State 

10/09 Branford, FL @ RV Music Fest (Ellie Ray’s Resort) 

10/09 Clifton, NJ @ Dingbatz 

10/11 Knoxville, TN @ The Concourse 

10/12 Huntsville, AL @ Shagnasty’s 

10/14 Katy, TX @ The Wildcatter Saloon 

More Dates TBD



Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases