Watch the new Paradise Lost video “Fall From Grace”

Posted by on March 21, 2020


Paradise Lost has revealed a new video for their song “Fall From Grace.” The song is taken from their upcoming record, Obsidian, which will land on May 15th via Nuclear Blast. The album was produced by Jaime Gomez Arellano.

Frontman Nick Holmes commented on the backstory of the album:

“This is a song about struggling through difficult times, and a point-blank refusal to accept that the end is within range.”

Guitarist Greg Mackintosh adds:

“The first song written for ‘Obsidian’ so probably one of the closest in style to the previous album, [2017’s] ‘Medusa’. It has quite a few different elements to it but is essentially a classic PL song. Doom laden, but hopefully heartfelt and subtle in places.”

Last December, the guitarist provided details to That Drummer Guy about the sound of the upcoming album:

“There’s a couple of songs in the new stuff that kind of pick up where ‘Medusa’ left off, but, for the most part, it’s a lot more varied. It’s hard to pigeonhole, but a couple of songs, I would say, are almost ’80s goth music. There’s a lot of stuff in between and a lot of quite eclectic stuff on there. It’s going to be quite a varied album, I think.”

In another recent statement by Holmes, the record label offered to postpone the release of the album due to the COVID-19 outbreak, but the band decided against it and stuck with the original release date of May 15th.

“As a global crisis, it goes without saying Covid 19 has affected everyone and everything, including every aspect of the music industry. As a result, our record label Nuclear Blast offered us the chance to postpone the launch of our latest album ‘Obsidian’ to a less volatile time later in the year.
Taking this into consideration, and the fact the live music circuit is currently in lockdown, we think it’s unnecessary to postpone the release as we think our fans wouldn’t want to wait. Music can be enjoyed in practically any environment, so therefore we are going ahead with the same release date 15.5.20, and we sincerely hope our new album helps to lift your spirits, and is a beacon of light in the dark during these uncertain times! Thanks for your continuous support through the years and see you on the road!”

“Obsidian” track listing:

01. Darker Thoughts
02. Fall From Grace
03. Ghosts
04. The Devil Embraced
05. Forsaken
06. Serenity
07. Ending Days
08. Hope Dies Young
09. Ravenghast

You can pre-save the album here and pre-order one of their exclusive bundles here.

Watch “Fall From Grace” below!

Tags: ,

Categorised in: Metal on Metal, New Music, Video