Queensryche Play First Show With Old Name

Posted by on July 30, 2012


Hallowed be thy name, Queensryche! The band played their first show with their new singer and old name this past weekend at the Halfway Jam in Royalton, MN.

The band members Michael Wilton, Eddie Jackson, Parker Lundgren, and Scott Rockenfield, who had booted their singer Geoff Tate, saw themselves facing a possible name change after the latter took it to court to get the name back for himself, but as we reported some days ago, the court decided otherwise. The former frontman has since been replaced by Todd La Torre of Crimson Glory.

If Tate had gotten what he wanted, the remaining band members could not have been touring with their band name. While the lawsuit was still in progress they briefly played a few shows under the name Rising West, but were finally able to play as Queensryche this past weekend.

However, it is not over just yet, the case might still go to trial, but either way, nothing will happen until November 18, 2013. Tate and his wife sued the remaining band members for “wrongfully firing” him and “tarnishing the band’s brand”. One might also call it bruised ego instead. Let’s just hope there will be no more spitting.

You’ll find the complete setlist of the first new Queensryche show as well as some more video clips of it after the jump.

01. Queen Of The Reich
02. Speak
03. Neue Regel
04. Walk In The Shadows
05. En Force
06. I Don’t Believe In Love
07. Child Of Fire
08. The Whisper
09. Warning
10. Spreading The Disease
11. The Needle Lies
12. Prophecy
13. Take Hold Of The Flame
14. My Empty Room
15. Eyes Of A Stranger
16. Empire
17. Wrathchild (IRON MAIDEN cover)
18. Jet City Woman
19. Roads To Madness






[via Blabbermouth]

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Metal Musical Chairs