Machine Head’s Robb Flynn covers Slipknot, Pearl Jam, Deftones and Staind

Posted by on June 29, 2020

Photo Credit: Melinda Oswandel


Machine Head’s Robb Flynn hosted another “Acoustic Happy Hour” where he played a couple of well-known tunes by Slipknot, Pearl Jam, Deftones and Staind. Of course the frontman added some Machine Head tracks too. You can see the setlist below:

  • Slipknot -“Snuff”
  • Pearl Jam – “Black”
  • Deftones – “Change”
  • Staind – “Outside”
  • Machine Head – “Is There Anybody Out There?”
  • Machine Head – “Circle The Drain”

Flynn spoke to Kerrang! magazine about the “Acoustic Happy Hour” and how much fun it has been:

“It’s just basically a free show on Facebook. I try to learn two new songs every Friday. I take requests, and I try to play Machine Head songs that have never been played live acoustic. Last week I covered Muse, Tool, and Lynyrd Skynyrd. It’s been fucking awesome. The first three or four were horrible — I knew they were — but I knew that if I kept sucking for six weeks I would get past it.

“For the first 20 years of my career, I never took singing lessons. Then I did some about 10 years ago. With these acoustic shows, I’ve been back in contact with my old singing teacher to try and figure out why I can do a three-and-a-half hour Machine Head show, but this clean singing is kicking my ass. It’s been an opportunity to un-learn all the wrong shit and get an opportunity to do things right.”

Machine Head recently dropped an 2 song EP dubbed Civil Unrest featuring Killswitch Engage’s Jesse Leach. Check out their music video here.


Tags: ,

Categorised in: News, Video