Listen to the first new Fates Warning song in 9 years

Posted by on August 20, 2013

fatesWarningProg metal band Fates Warning haven’t put out an album since 2004, but with Darkness In A Different Light coming out on September 30, the band have premiered “Firefly,” the first single from the album via classicrockmagazine. The song is pretty recognizable as latter-day Fates Warning – far away from their more thrashy sound of their early material, but still heavy and progressive in a mainstream sort of way. This is what vocalist Ray Alder told Classic Rock about the song:

Firefly is very personal to me in more ways than one. After I’d written the melody I knew immediately what the title was going to be, as well as the subject. I’m pretty sure we’ve all felt this way at one time or another: that sometimes things just don’t work out the way you think they would, but that’s okay, it’s part of life, and we move on. Ironically, I was outside the studio one night while recording it, and there were – fireflies floating through the trees in the forest. I hadn’t seen a single firefly for at least 15 years so I took it as a sign. A sign of what, I don’t know; but very ironic nonetheless.

At any rate, if you’ve been a fan of the band from Perfect Symmetry on, you’ll definitely like this track. Track listing and video are below.

1. One Thousand Fires
2. Firefly
3. Desire
4. Falling
5. I Am
6. Lighthouse
7. Into the Black
8. Kneel and Obey
9. O Chloroform
10. And Yet It Moves


Tags: ,

Categorised in: New Music, Video