Lamb Of God and Mastodon share new songs from “Bill & Ted Face The Music”

Posted by on August 28, 2020


Lamb Of God and Mastodon have contributed to the soundtrack for Bill & Ted Face The Music and have each posted their respected tracks. Lamb Of God shared the heavy “The Death Of Us” whereas Mastodon shared their upbeat “Rufus Lives.” Bill & Ted Face The Music was released today and is available on all VOD formats and various theaters.

Mastodon drummer Brann Dailor spoke about how writing “Rufus Lives” came to be:

“The song was something that was sort of in the works, you know? It was pretty recent, maybe six months ago. I was going over to Bill’s [Kelliher, guitar], and I’d had probably more than a pot of coffee already, and was just amped up, ready to rock. He started playing guitar, we put this thing together, it wasn’t even 10 o clock in the morning and we already had this fast, crazy thing going on. It just sounded cool. That was the beginning of it.

From there we wrote the song pretty quickly, and then when ‘Bill & Ted’ came around, they wanted something very specific for a specific scene in the movie. They sent us the scene, and it needed to be like party rock ‘n’ roll. We sent them a couple things, but they were a little doomy. It’s hard for us not to be doomy, you know? They were, like, ‘It needed to be at a party, not a funeral!’ And we were like, ‘Okay, we’re sorry!’ The notes that we all gravitate towards are all minor, spooky notes, Black Sabbath. That’s where we live, spooky! But I think we were able to maintain our aesthetic and our musical personalities, and give a party rockin’ song. It’s basically, like, ‘You’re at a party, you’re in the woods, everybody is having fun, what’s on the stereo?’ That’s the song we needed to write, and what we tried to do. Then we took the situation that ‘Bill & Ted’ were in, and we applied it to the lyrical content. So I’m singing in it, and Troy’s singing.”

Many other talented artists contributed to the soundtrack, which can all be seen below:

Tracklist for Bill & Ted Face The Music:

01. BIG BLACK DELTA – “Lost in Time”
02. ALEC WIGDAHL – “Big Red Balloon”
03. WEEZER – “Beginning Of The End (Wyld Stallyns Edit)”
04. COLD WAR KIDS – “Story Of Our Lives”
05. MASTODON – “Rufus Lives”
06. BIG BLACK DELTA – “Circuits Of Time”
07. POORSTACY – “Darkest Night”
08. LAMB OF GOD – “The Death Of Us”
09. FIDLAR – “Breaker”
10. CULTURE WARS – “Leave Me Alone”
11. BLAME MY YOUTH – “Right Where You Belong”
12. WYLD STALLYNS (feat. Animals As Leaders, Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah) – “Face The Music”
13. WYLD STALLYNS – “That Which Binds Us Through Time: The Chemical, Physical and Biological Nature of Love; an Exploration of The Meaning of Meaning, Part 1”

Check out Lamb Of God’s “The Death Of Us” and Mastodon’s “Rufus Lives” below!

Tags: , ,

Categorised in: New Music, Updates, Video