Darkthrone reveal details for new album ‘Astral Fortress’

Posted by on September 7, 2022

Photo Credit – Jørn Steen


Darkthrone have announced their new album, Astral Fortress, is scheduled to arrive on October 28th via Peaceville Records. The follow-up to 2021’s Eternal Hails was recorded at Chaka Khan Studios in Oslo with  Øvstedal and Silje Høgevold.


Fenriz comments:

“As usual, Ted makes music by playing himself and riffs just come to me. I think since 2016’s ARCTIC THUNDER, we have mostly been inspired by our own back catalogue. I can hear many of my riffs eventually sounding like a plethora of bands but this seldom seems to correlate with what others hear. As you’ll know by now I never talk about the lyrics or the inspiration behind them and I would never want any lyrics that I like of others to be explained to me but I will tell you this, it is darker than ever, it is seething with hell.”


Watch the trailer below:


Track List:

01) Caravan Of Broken Ghosts [07:53]

02) Impeccable Caverns Of Satan [05:34]

03) Stalagmite Necklace [05:22]

04) The Sea Beneath The Seas Of The Sea [10:10]

05) Kevorkian Times [04:27]

06) Kolbotn, West Of The Vast Forests [01:54]

07) Eon 2 [04:40]




Categorised in: News, Video