The Chilean black metal band Ater announced their second studio album, Somber, to be released on April 19th via Torque Records, with the premiere of the album’s first single, “Ignis Immortalis.” A powerful video clip accompanies the track. The members are hooded in a series of apocalyptic images with a black sun as the central axis, representing eternal doom. The music is powerful, the vocal growl is enhanced by the intricate drumming and the fast guitar riffs that provide an exquisite composition, both for the characteristic black metal sound and the atmospheric passages added in the song. Recorded in the midst of Covid Pandemic, the album is heavily inspired by Meshuggah’s signature rhythms, navigating between black/death metal to progressive metal.


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:



Track List:

01) Striges

02) Descending

03) Somber

04) Through the Portal

05) Ignis Immortalis

06) Shrine

07) Sæculi Fine

08) Solitude