Quiet Riot to re-record new album with new vocalist

Posted by on March 10, 2017

It is impossible to recreate the vocals from the late Kevin DuBrow of Quiet Riot. He gave us the full Metal Health rundown back in the eighties and lived through 2006’s Rehab. Since his passing in 2007, Quiet Riot have gone through a handful of vocalists. They managed to record one full-length album without DuBrow which was 2014’s Quiet Riot 10 with Jizzy Pearl. Seann Nichols replaced Pearl shortly after his departure in 2016, just in time to record their anticipated release Road Rage.

Nichols and the rest of the band didn’t seem to mesh well together, resulting in his departure bringing in the American Idol alumni James Durbin as the new singer. When we discovered this change-up a few days ago, it seemed the band was still on board releasing Road Rage with Nichols, with an April 21st release date. However, both the band and label decided to re-record Road Rage with Durbin’s vocals instead.

The band will head back to the studio, resulting in pushing the release date until later this summer.

The band made the following comment:

“After careful consideration, with the support of Frontiers and understanding the appeals from Quiet Riot fans to have our vocalist James Durbin represented on the new Quiet Riot release, we have made the decision to move forward and have James replace all the vocals on Road Rage with new lyrics and melodies for a summer 2017 release. Stay tuned!”

Despite the pushback, the band assures their fans Road Rage will be well-worth the wait. With this new information, we are now extremely curious as to what happened between Nichols and the rest of the band.

Tags: ,

Categorised in: In The Studio, Updates