With so much happening with Adrenaline Mob, we almost completely forgot about Mike Portnoy’s other projects. In fact, it’s been a while since we’ve last heard anything about the ex-Dream Theater drummer’s project with Steve Morse (Deep Purple, Dixie Dregs), Neal Morse  (Transatlantic, Spock’s Beard), Dave LaRue (Dixie Dregs) and Casey McPherson (Alpha Rev, Endochine). However, not only have details regarding the supergroup Flying Colors’ debut album been revealed today, but an EPK has made its way online as well.

Flying Colors’ self-titled debut will be released on March 27 via Mascot Label Group (the cover artwork can be seen above). And from what we can hear in the EPK, this group is a bit of a departure for Portnoy. While definitely still possessing prog influences (when you have that many virtuoso musicians, it be hard not to sound a little proggy), it also sounds a lot poppier than what Portnoy has done previously. That might likely be due to the inclusion of singer McPherson, who is more known for his pop style of singing. Chances are, though, DT fans who were hoping for a little more technicality from Adrenaline Mob will enjoy Flying Colors more.

You can watch the EPK on the making of Flying Colors’ debut album, produced by Peter Collins (Rush, Queensryche), after the jump, while more information about the supergroup can be found via their newly launched website.