Ministry To Release “Final” Album In September

Posted by on March 28, 2013

Even before the release of Ministry’s “comeback” album Relapse last year, Al Jourgensen made it clear that the industrial metal pioneers won’t be around for much longer. And in an interview with Noisey, Jourgensen revealed that Ministry has one more album in it before calling it quits for good… again.

During the interview, Jourgensen states that From Beer To Eternity will indeed be Ministry’s last album. The frontman started writing and recording the album in December right before guitarist Mike Scaccia’s sudden death. “Mikey was my best friend in the world and there’s no Ministry without him,” states Jourgensen. “But I know the music we recorded together during the last weeks of his life had to be released to honor him. So after his funeral, I locked myself in my studio and turned the songs we had recorded into the best and last Ministry record anyone will ever here. I can’t do it without Mikey and I don’t want to. So yes, this will be Ministry’s last album.”

While From Beer to Eternity is scheduled for a September release, Jourgensen states that Ministry definitely will not be touring. A main reason for that is due to the toll touring has taken on his health (hence the incident in Paris last summer). However, Jourgensen doesn’t rule out one big tribute show to Scaccia, saying “Maybe we’ll do one big show with Tommy [Victor] and Sin [Quirin] and the guys who made this band possible for the past few years. That would be a nice tribute to Mikey. But I can’t do a whole tour without him. Ministry was his life almost as much as mine, and I’m afraid it has to die with him. But damn if we didn’t go out with a bang!”

Like we’ve alluded to before, this isn’t the first time Jourgensen claimed Ministry would be done for good (the first time being in 2007). Whether From Beer To Eternity will indeed be the end of Ministry is anyone’s guess, but Jourgensen certainly seems content about it. Check out the album’s track listing, as well as video of Jourgensen and Scaccia in the studio together, after the jump.

1. Hail to his Majesty

2. Punch In The Face

3. PermaWar

4. Perfect Storm

5. Fairly Unbalanced

6. The Horror

7. Side FX include Mikey’s Middle Finger (T.V.4)

8. Lesson Unlearned

9. Thanx But No Thanx

10. Change of Luck

11. Enjoy The Silence

[youtube width=”500″ height=”344″]http://youtu.be/v01VqJJuYis[/youtube]

Tags: , , ,

Categorised in: Releases