It’s been a decade since The Damned’s latest effort arrived with 2008’s So, Who’s Paranoid, and now, the wait is now finally over. On April 13th, these legendary punk rockers’ forthcoming album Evil Spirits will be released via Search and Destroy/Spinefarm Records. The group were in Brooklyn last October recording the brand new record with famed producer Tony Visconti (David Bowie, T Rex, Morrissey, U2, The Stranglers, Iggy Pop, Thin Lizzy, and more). It’s a surprisingly modern sounding song that fans of post-punk bands obviously inspired by them will enjoy.

Guitarist Captain Sensible shared his thoughts about the new LP:

“We deliberately recorded the album retro style. The same way our debut album was made, basically. There’s something wonderful about the seventies sounds; glam, rock and punk records, they all sound so great and Tony specializes in beautifully crafted old school production. He had us all playing live, bashing it out in the same room with a focus on getting the initial band version of each song as close as possible to the finished thing.“

The group have unleashed the first taste of the album by streaming the song “Standing On the Edge of Tomorrow.”

Frontman Dave Vanian commented:

“It’s supposed to be very optimistic, even though it’s about a dark subject. As an artist, you can’t help but reflect the times, because that’s what art does. I think we always do it, but in a slightly different way. So a song like ‘Standing…’ may seem quite joyous and uplifting musically,

but some of the lyrics might be about quite dark things. That’s what I’d like to think this album is – an uplifting album, not a moaning old album – not ‘this is terrible, and that’s terrible’, and then not offering any answers. It’s more a case of, ‘If we get it together, maybe we could change things a bit”.

Check out the song “Standing on the Edge of Tomorrow” below and pre-order Evil Spirits here.


Track List:

1) “Standing On The Edge Of Tomorrow”

2) “Devil In Disguise”

3) “We’re So Nice”

4) “Look Left”

5) “Evil Spirits”

6) “Shadow Evocation”

7) “Sonar Deceit”

8) “Procrastination”

9) “Daily Liar”

10) “I Don’t Care”