New & Noteworthy, December 4th – Connect the Cuts

Posted by on December 4, 2015

As we here at Metal Insider are neck-deep in 2015 albums, trying to finish our Top 10 lists, the last few albums of the year are making their way in. It’s a short release week, but we’re making the most of it. Enjoy the beginning of the end of the 2015 release calendar!


Ice Nine Kills, Every Trick in the Book (Fearless)

After releasing The Predator Becomes the Prey last year, Ice Nine Kills played the entirety of Warped Tour, garnering the biggest exposure of their career. Following Warped, the band continued to tour before heading into the studio to create their fourth album. Every Trick in the Book has an overarching theme, in that every song is based on a piece of famous literature. The source material that has so far been matched to songs from the album includes the novel forms of The Exorcist, Dracula, and Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.


Sunn O))), Kannon (Southern Lord)

Kannon is the first proper album from Sunn O))) in six years. It may not seem to be proper, given that it’s only three tracks, but when three tracks clock in at over half an hour, you can call it an album without any difficulty. Greg Anderson and Stephen O’Malley brought in most of the collaborators from 2009’s Monoliths & Dimensions, and the result is definitely worth the wait for fans of the drone metal group.


Voodoo Circle, Whisky Fingers (AFM)

Since forming in 2008, Voodoo Circle has slowly moved up through the ranks of European rock. Formed with the goal of re-creating the magic of classic ’70s and ’80s rock, Voodoo Circle draws heavy influence from Deep Purple, Whitesnake, Rainbow, and other similar acts. Whisky Fingers is the band’s fourth album, and they hope to break through in the American market with this release.

Tags: , ,

Categorised in: New & Noteworthy, New Music, News