Ill Nino reveals new lineup, hear first new song in five years “Sangre”

Posted by on January 17, 2019

Ill Nino surprised us today by releasing their first song in five years with “Sangre.” It’s been half a decade since the nu metal outfit released 2014’s Till Death, La Familia and a first-ever without frontman Cristian Machado. The band have addressed the new single features original members Dave Chavarri (drums), Laz Pina (bass), and the return of percussionist Daniel Couto as well as welcoming new members Shattered Sun singer Marcos Leal, rhythm guitarist Sal Dominguez (ex- Upon a Burning Body, Sons of Texas), and lead guitarist Jess Dehoyos.

Not only did the group find a new frontman, it appears half of the lineup has changed as Ahrue Luster who played lead guitar since 2003 and rhythm guitarist Diego Verduzco who performed with the group since 2006 have officially called it quits. It appears the band grew apart with the former members as they issued the following statement:

“Being in a band is much like being married, and sometimes people grow apart, and no longer see eye to eye, and a separation becomes inevitable. We wish our former members the best in their musical careers.

Our new members were chosen carefully, as they’re very respected, seasoned musicians. – We ask everyone that you please Respect our Privacy, as we all move forward in our careers.”

Leal expressed his excitement:

“Anyone who knows me knows the love I have for this band. I got my start singing Ill Nino covers in my younger years and this band has always held a special place in my heart. When the opportunity arose to front one of my favorite bands of all time, it was something I needed to consider.”

Listen to the new chapter of Ill Nino with “Sangre” below:

Tags: , ,

Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases