Former Cynic members form Our Oceans

Posted by on December 24, 2014

Tymon Kruidenier (of Exivious, formerly of Cynic) has started a new band, Our Oceans, with singer and songwriter Noora Häkkinen from Finland.

The rest of the band is made up of bassist Robin Zielhorst (Exivious, also formerly of Cynic), drummer Jasper Barendregt (Dodecahedron, Ulsect), and guitarist Michel Nienhuis (Exivious, Dodecahedron).

Kruidenier, on how he discovered singer Häkkinen:

“I spent weeks, scouring every corner of the internet, trying to find a suitable singer. Eventually I found a young girl by the name of Noora. She just started composing her own music for which she played the piano and sang. I immediately fell in love with her voice. So I contacted her and we started talking. As it turned out, she actually knew about Exivious and liked what we were doing.”

The band is about half-way through the recording of a debut album and is looking to crowdfund the release by offering pre-orders. You can hear some of the music in the video below.


Cynic parted ways with Kruidenier and Zielhorst back in 2010, due to the difficulties of half the band being in the US, and the other half being in the Netherlands.

Tags: , , ,

Categorised in: Crowdfunding, New Music, News