Metal Insider’s Zenae Zukowski’s Top 50 Albums of 2020

Posted by on December 24, 2020



01) Ayreon, Transitus (Music Theories)

Mastermind Arjen Lucassen has done it again by creating another masterpiece. This ambitious rock opera includes a twenty-five-page comic book. It marks the first time adding Oceans of Slumber vocalist Cammie Gilbert as one of the vocalists on this album, who portrayed “Abby.” Each listen gets more mesmerizing after the next. It’s fun, creative, and goes beyond your average album. The uniqueness in Ayreon is what I adore the most, along with the number of musical guests. 

Key Track: “Inferno” featuring Johanne James, Tom Baker, Noa Gruman, Joost van den Broek &  “Message From Beyond” featuring Cammie Gilbert, Tom Baker, Joost van den Broek, Amanda Somerville, Marty Friedman



Unexpected Prediction:

We have to give Delain credit for predicting what 2020 would be like with their new album Apocalypse & Chill (Napalm Records).

Key Track: “Vengeance” 





Best Song:

Antiqva, “Funeral Crown”

I cannot express how excited I am to hear more from this unique black metal project featuring Xen from Ne Obliviscaris and Lindsay Schoolcraft (ex-Cradle of Filth). 





Fun One-off single:

Fleshgod Apocalypse, “No” (Nuclear Blast)







Best EP:

Ihsahn – Telemark (Candlelight)

Key Track: “Nord”






Wilderun re-released their flawless 2019 record, Veil Of Imagination this year after signing with Century Media Records. Looking forward to seeing the bright future that’s in store for them. 

Key Track: “The Unimaginable Zero Summer”





Honorable Mentions:

Carcass, Despicable (Nuclear Blast)

Key Track: “The Long and Winding Bier Road”





Raven, Metal City (Steamhammer)

Key Track: “The Power”





Benediction, Scriptures (Nuclear Blast)

Key Track: “Stormcrow”





Napalm Death, Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism (Century Media)

Key Track: “Feral Carve-Up’





Mr. Bungle, The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny (Ipecac Recordings)

Key Track: “Loss For Words”





Kataklysm, Unconquered (Nuclear Blast) 

Key Track: “Cut Me Down”






Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Lists, Top 50