Metallica’s ‘Beyond Magnetic’ To Receive Physical Release

Posted by on January 4, 2012


The four unreleased Metallica songs that the band released over the course of their four 30th Anniversary shows in December will be made available physically on January 31. The four songs, “Hate Train,” “Just A Bullet Away,” “Hell and Back” and “Rebel of Babylon,” were recorded in 2008 during the Death Magnetic sessions. Here’s what the band had to say about it, via their website:

We’re still pumped up after celebrating our 30th anniversary last month with Fan Club members from around the world and by sharing the stage with musicians we have admired all our lives. As you may have heard by now, part of the fun on those nights included playing unreleased tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions and after giving them to all Fan Club members for free, those songs have been available on iTunes and other at digital retailers for several weeks. We’ve been feeling all the love and positive vibes beyond our wildest expectations on the mp3 side, so we decided to go “old school” (!!) and also release those four songs on a CD.

The Beyond Magnetic EP will be available world-wide at retail on January 30 and in North America on January 31. As a refresher, these four songs are the rough mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March of 2008. Those of you still following along with finely tuned ears might recognize bits and pieces from the ‘Mission:Metallica’ videos posted during that summer.

Happy New Year!

Meanwhile, the 45 minute recap of the band’s final 30th Anniversary, featuring Ozzy Osbourne, Geezer Butler, Dave Mustaine, and more can be seen above.

Categorised in: Uncategorized