Dark Tranquillity welcome guitarists Chris Amott & Johan Reinholdz as “proper real members”

Posted by on March 31, 2020

Last week, Dark Tranquillity revealed founding guitarist Niklas Sundin has quit the band. The split remained amicable, and it seemed like this was a long time coming considering guitarists Chris Amott (ex-Arch Enemy) and Johan Reinholdz (Andromeda) have been performing with the group live over the last few years. Yesterday (30th), the group has not only announced they will be spending eight weeks in isolation to work on their new album, but they’ve also officially welcomed Amott and Reinholdz as “proper real members” of Dark Tranquillity.


Frontman Mikael Stanne comments:

“A new cycle begins…

Today marks the first day of recording our new album. In these uncertain times all we can do is try to channel this frustration, fear, and anxiety into music and words. Isolation can be a strong motivator and we are committed to making this the best it can possibly be. With us this time we have two fantastic musicians who have been on tour with us for quite some time and we are now proud to announce as proper real members of Dark Tranquillity; Chris Amott and Johan Reinholdz. They have been incredible additions to our live shows and now we cannot wait to hear what their collective musicianship and skill will add to this album. Stay tuned as we will update you on the progress of the recording and stay safe out there!


Full lineup:

Mikael Stanne- Vocals

Anders Jivarp- Drums

Martin Brandstrom- Keys

Anders Iwers- Bass

Johan Reinholdz- Guitar

Chris Amott- Guitar”



Categorised in: Uncategorized